We're here to help.

How do I block Snapchat on my mobile device?

iOS Devices:

While there is no specific setting to block the Snapchat app specifically, you can use Apple's built-in restrictions settings to prevent users from installing the app.  Take a look at the steps below for safe-gearing your iOS devices including iPhone, iPad and iPod Touch devices.

 

To begin, locate the “Settings” icon on your device’s home screen and click on it.

Next, locate the “Restrictions” option on the right side of the window (iPhone or iPod Touch users will need to click on “General” and then on “Restrictions).

If this is your first time accessing the “Restrictions” feature on your iOS device, you’ll be prompted to create what’s called a “Restrictions passcode”. This is not the same passcode that is used to lock the device! Once you’ve created the passcode and/or signed in, it’s time to optimize the settings by turning some things off and some on.

Item 1; Safari: If you haven’t already done so, turn the Safari web browser to “OFF”.

Item 2; Installing Apps: This is on by default, but by turning it off, you’ll prevent users from being able to circumvent the protections by installing another unfiltered browser. You’ll enjoy the peace-of-mind that comes with knowing exactly what apps your users have installed on their device.

Item 3; Deleting Apps: When “Deleting Apps” is turned on, users are able to delete any app from the device, including X3watch, simply by pressing and holding the app’s icon for a few seconds. By turing this OFF, no one can remove apps without your passcode. We recommend turning this option to OFF.

Item 4; In-App Purchases: Some applications have additional add-ons and services that users can buy inside the app itself. Parents have sometimes found unexpected charges on their credit and bank accounts made accidentally by children using their device (most often when playing games). For the security of your account, we recommend turning “In-App Purchases” to OFF!
While the above settings are the ones that we encourage our users to update, Apple does provide a few more that you may want to consider updating as well. Scrolling further down are options for Music and Podcasts and another for Movies. These two settings will allow you to restrict the types of material that users can access through iTunes. Scrolling a bit further down from that is a very cool setting for Siri. Apple is now providing a couple of settings to restrict Siri content. Depending on the age and maturity level of your kids or users, you may want to consider disabling explicit language from Siri’s search returns.

Once you’re finished making adjustments to your Restrictions settings, you can simply press the round home button on the device to return to the home screen. Users can begin using the device with all of the protections you’ve just enabled.

 

Android Tablets (most recent versions of Android OS):

With X3watch installed, follow this simple steps:
Step 1:
Begin by clicking the “app drawer” icon located at the bottom of the screen (it’s the round icon with squares in it).
Step 2: Locate and click on the “Settings” icon.
Step 3: Under the “Device”  section, click the “Users” icon.
Step 4: Now select “Add user or profile”.
Step 5: A screen will appear asking you what type of user you wish to add, select “Restricted Profile”

 A new “Restricted Profile” will be created for you.

Step 6: Click the “New Profile” icon at the top of the page and in the pop-up window, give your new profile a name and click “OK”.
Step 7: Choosing which apps to turn on. X3watch recommends that you make the following changes to your settings. Remember that “OFF” means your user will not be able to use the app when signed into their restricted profile on the device.

- Turn the X3watch app to “ON”
- Leave Chrome browser “OFF”
- Leave FireFox browser “OFF
- Turn the SnapChat app to "OFF" (if the app has been installed)

- Optional: There are a great number of other applications for you to either turn on or leave off for your users. We recommend turning the following applications to “ON”: Calculator, Calendar, Cloud Print, Earth, Email, Gallery, Maps. 

When you’re finished customizing your user’s new restricted profile, simply press the home icon to return to the home screen. From now on, anytime the device is turned off and back on, your user will need to select the user account to sign into.

There you have it. A quick and easy way to add an extra layer of protection to your Android tablets!

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk